Established in 1897 with the purchase of approximately thirty acres of land along the Maumee River.


A nine-hole golf course was constructed almost immediately while today’s Clubhouse was completed by 1901. The course was originally designed by British Open Champion Willie Park Jr. and was later redesigned by Arthur Hills. Club records indicate that in 1899, a golf lesson cost a mere seventy-five cents, while golf clubs were $2.50. Within a decade, a new swimming pool and nine additional holes were added as additional land was purchased by the Club. The magnificent river setting and ambiance of the Clubhouse has made it a favorite location for many memorable weddings, receptions and social gatherings. Our true character is shaped both by the traditional elegance of the century-old Clubhouse as well as by the philosophy and attitudes of our members.

Four golfers posing with their clubs.


The beautiful Clubhouse, built in 1897 by Henry Spieker and designed by George S. Mills has seen and survived numerous changes in its 120-year existence. From windmills and water pumps, ice- houses and horse drawn carriages, the club has been renovated, expanded and has reinvented itself over and over again. At one point, it even housed a bowling alley and employee living quarters. Withstanding two World Wars and the Great Depression, the historic structure exudes the history, pride and tradition that its members; old and new alike, hold close to their hearts.

Described fondly by many as their “second home”, the club boasts a family centered atmosphere of relaxed elegance. It has been host to many of the area’s most prestigious weddings and social gatherings. Standing proudly in the main parlor is the 1792 (Marty) Cromb Family Grandfather’s clock, just one of the many cherished heirlooms that can be found inside the Club.